John Talabot: DJ-Kicks
Similar Artists: Andy Stott
Genre: Deep House, Atmospheric Techno
Label: !K7

Reasons why I should write a review for John Talabot’s DJ-Kicks entry:

I.) With it being the end of 2013, writing this review could act as a good opportunity to reflect on some of the year’s best dance music (Classixx, Disclosure, Gold Panda, Daft Punk).
II.) I could possibly, hopefully, desperately try to convince you that it’s better than Disclosure’s Settle, which it may or may not be.
III.) Writing is a good way to prevent myself from doing more important things, such as cleaning my apartment or buying holiday gifts for my friends/family.
IV.) If I write enough reviews this year, maybe I have a chance of getting hired at a more indie friendly/less queer friendly website that will compensate me with free music, concert tickets and wall posters.
V.) I actually bought this mix, which is more than I can say about most of the music I’ve reviewed this year.

Reasons why I shouldn’t write a review for John Talabot’s DJ-Kicks entry:

I.) I never know who to give credit to in DJ mixes, and this one in particular has an enormous roster of artists, most of whom I’m unfamiliar with.
II.) DJ mixes are almost never as notable as the artist’s full length releases, and as hip as John Talabot is right now, I’m quite certain he won’t release anything as commendable as fin for at least a few more years.
III.) I haven’t listened to this mix that much, and don’t really feel like listening to it anymore either, especially when I could be re-listening to other albums from this year in preparation for my epic year end list (due in the coming weeks).
IV.) I rarely listen to DJ mixes, and when I do, it’s usually only so I can show them to other people, or so I can use them to disassociate myself from the awkwardness of a car ride with a person whom I share no common interests with.
V.) Very few people will read my review anyway, and no matter how good it may turn out, it will never beat out the barebacking article, or any of the other top trending articles on this nonsensical website.

Track Listing:
01.) North Lake – Journey To The Center Of The Sun
02.) Pye Corner Audio – Underneath The Dancefloor
03.) Maps – I Heard Them Say (Andy Stott Remix)*
04.) Pye Corner Audio – Zero Centre
05.) Michael Ozone – Hetrotopia (Young Marco Remix)
06.) Madteo – We Doubt (You Can Make It)
07.) Harmonious Thelonious – The Grasshopper Was The Witness (Elmore Judd & Rowan Park Remix)
08.) Tempel Rytmik – Anagrama*
09.) John Talabot – Without You (DJ-Kicks)*
10.) Axel Boman – Klinsmann
11.) Joaquin Joe Claussell presents Residue Part One – Eno (Melodic Dub)
12.) Bostro Pesopeo & Pional – Bonus Beats
13.) Mara TK – Run (Moodymann Remix)
14.) Alex Burkat – Shower Scene
15.) Mistakes are Okay – Night Watcher*
16.) Unknown – #001
17.) Round – Glass*
18.) Max Mohr – Old Song*
19.) Samo DJ – Tai Po Kau
20.) Motor City Drum Ensemble – Escape To Nowhere*
21.) Paradise’s Deep Groove – Innermind
22.) Abby – Streets (Wraetlic Remix)
23.) DJ Jus-Ed – Turn Of The Century
24.) Genius of Time – Juno Jam
25.) Kron – Silikron (Jürgen Paape Remix)
26.) Talaboman – Sideral*
27.) Pional – It’s All Over (Locked Groove Rendition)

Album Highlight – *